Space Settings Overview

The following article is essentially a list of all of the features available in the Space tab in Settings. Some features may only be available for specific use cases, and the options that are available vary by your user role. 

Note: Many of these features can also be managed from the Space Space dashboard. Read about User Role Privileges to understand who can manage features within a Space.

Space Preferences

Space Preferences in Settings allows you to add a Space-wide calendar, add a persistent message in Chat, manage chat history, manage beta features, manage the Space tutorial, manage the Invite button, and manage chat and screen share (in Premium Spaces). Owners/Admins and Moderators can access Space Preferences.

A view of the Settings window the Space tab active and Space Preferences selected. Space-wide calendar, pinned moderator message, preserve chat history, beta features, and hide tutorial in this Space are visible.Select Settings (cog icon) in the Left Nav Menu or use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl/⌘+P to open Space Settings. Space Preferences is open by default.

Space-Wide Calendar

Paste your public iCal link into the Space-wide Calendar field and select Save to add a public calendar that is accessible in the Left Nav Menu and visible to everyone in the Space. You can even schedule events to take place in specific locations in your Space by creating custom Spawn locations.

Pinned Moderator Message 

Enter text and select Save to add a message that is persistently visible at the top of the Chat panel in the Left Nav Menu. (This is separate from the Info Board feature.) 

Preserve Chat History

By default, chat history preservation is turned on. Toggle off Preserve Chat History if you want chat messages to be wiped out every time the participant reloads the Space. 

Beta Features

By default, beta features are turned off. Toggle on to have access to new features that have not been fully released yet! If beta features are turned on, you can give feedback by selecting Beta Feedback (person with speech bubble icon) in the Left Nav Menu.

A view of a game room template with the Beta Feedback window open. A red box is drawn around the Beta Feedback icon in the Left Nav Menu, with a red arrow pointing to the red box around the Beta Feedback window. In the window, there is a drop-down list for Feature and fields for your name, email, and feedback.When Beta Features is toggled on in Space Settings, you can select Beta Feedback in the Left Nav Menu to send us your thoughts about new features.

Tip: We partially release some new features as part of our testing and development. Keep an eye on our changelog and the Partial Rollout article for updates!

Hide Tutorial

By default, Hide Tutorial in this Space is turned off. If you don't want new visitors to your Space to see "Tutorial Island" where we give basic info about movement in Gather, you can turn Hide Tutorial in this Space on. 

A view of the new user tutorial. An avatar stands next to a palm tree on a small square island. A blue box displays several tiles away on the Island. The window at the top of the page reads A view of "Tutorial Island" where new users learn the basics of movement and interaction in Gather. You can turn off this tutorial by toggling on Hide Tutorial in this Space.

Disable Invite Button

By default, the Invite button is available at the bottom of the Participants panel so that any user in your Space can easily send an invite by email or link. You can toggle on Disable Invite Button to remove Invite people from the Home menu and to disable the button in the Participants panel.

Warning: Keep in mind users can still copy and share the URL; for more info about limiting who can access your Space, see Space Access Restrictions.)

Disable Push Notifications (Beta Feature)

If users have beta features turned on, they can choose to receive push notifications to know when a Space's Participants list changes from 0 to 1.  This lets you know when someone joins the Space and no one else is there so you can enter the Space to greet them or hang out. You can toggle on Disable Push Notifications to prevent users from subscribing to these notifications. 

Disable Chat (Premium Feature)

If you have a reservation or subscription (a paid Space), you can disable the in-Space chat feature. Toggle on Disable Chat to turn off chat in your Space.

Disable Screenshare (Premium Feature)

If you have a reservation or subscription (a paid Space), you can disable the screen sharing feature. Toggle on Disable Screenshare to turn off screen sharing in your Space.

Space Customization

Space Customization in Settings allows you to manage Global Build and to access the Mapmaker. Admins/Owners and Builders can access this section, but only Admins/Owners can manage Global Build.

The Settings window with the Space tab active and Space Customization selected. Global Build and Customize Space features display..Select Space Customization to turn on Global Build or to access the Mapmaker.

Global Build

The Global Build feature allows anyone to access the Build tool in the Space, which opens the Object Picker and Eraser. However, users will not have access to the Mapmaker unless they have the user role of Builder or Admin/Owner. 

Customize Space 

You can open the Mapmaker for the Space in a new tab by selecting the Open Mapmaker button. Only Builders and Admin/Owners can open the Mapmaker.

Space Access

Space Access in Settings allows you to set, change, or remove a Space password; allow Gather staff access to your Space; temporarily shut down your Space; or restrict access to the Space by  email domain (Premium feature). These features can also be managed through the Space dashboard, where you can also restrict access to the Space by guest list. Admins/Owners and Moderators can access this section.

Select Space Access to add a password, allow staff access, shut down the Space, or restrict access to an email domain.

Tip: Read about our Space Settings & Moderation for complete details on ways to manage your Space.

Space Password

You can restrict access to your Space to only those who have a custom password. Just enter a password and select Save. If you have a password and wish to remove it, select Remove (if exists)

Note: There is currently no way to view the existing password. 

Require Login

If you want to restrict access to your Space to guests who are signed in to a Gather account,  toggle on Require Login.

Allow Staff Access

Occasionally, Gather staff may need to access your Space to support you in troubleshooting an issue. Toggle on Allow Staff Access so that staff can enter your Space without needing a password.

Shut Down Space

If you would like to temporarily close your Space, select Shut Down Space. Only Admins/Owners and Moderators can shut down or reopen a Space. 

Warning: Shutting down your Space removes all the guests from the Space. They will will not be able to re-enter your Space until an Admin/Owner or Moderator re-opens it.

If a guest visits your shut down Space, they will see a message stating that the Space is closed. (This message displays an Open Space button for Admin/Owners and Moderators to reopen the Space.)

When a Space is shut down, a visitor sees the message When you shut down your Space, guests are forced to leave the Space and cannot re-enter the Space until you re-open it.

Email Domain Access (Premium Feature)

If you have a reservation or subscription (a paid Space), you can restrict access to your Space by email domain. (Email domain is whatever follows the @ in an email, such as "gather.town" or "gmail.com" etc.) Enter the email domain and select Add. You can list multiple email domains.

If a user tries to enter your Space and is not logged into an account that matches the domain(s) you've listed, they cannot access the Space.

The Settings window with the Space tab active. Space Access is selected, and under Email Domain Access, gather.town and gmail.com are listed, each with a Remove button next to them.If you have a reservation or subscription, you can limit access to your Space by email domain. Enter the domain and select Add. To delete a domain, select Remove.  

User Roles

User Roles in Settings allows you to manage the privileges of users in your Space. 

Note: Currently the User Roles section in Remote Work Spaces looks a bit different than in other Spaces. Remote Work Spaces also have a Member role, which is not available in other Spaces. See the User Roles section for a complete description of user roles and privileges.

Advanced

The Advanced section of Settings allows Admins/Owners to access the Space dashboard.

The Settings window with the Space tab active. The Advanced section is selected, which has a button to open the Space Dashboard.Admins/Owners can use the Advanced section in Settings to open the Space Dashboard.