Screen Sharing

You can share your screen with all of the people you are connected to on Gather. To do so, select Screen Share in the toolbar. The process for sharing screens varies by browser and purpose.

Sharing in Chrome

Any time you screen share in Chrome, you are given the opportunity to share an Entire Screen (choose from any monitors you have), from a Window (choose from any program open on your machine), or from a Chrome Tab (choose from a specific tab in Chrome).

The screen share window in Chrome open to the Entire Screen tab, which shows three screens. The Screen Share icon is outlined in red with an arrow pointing to the Chrome window.Select Screen Share in the toolbar. If you are in Chrome, select the screen, window, or tab to share.

When you have selected the screen, window, or tab you wish to display, select Share

Sharing in Firefox

Any time you screen share in Firefox, you are given the opportunity to share a window or screen. The drop-down list will display all options for sharing, which include sharing a window (any open program) as well as your screen (entire monitor).

The screen share window in Firefox for choosing whether to share a window or screen. The screen share monitor icon is outlined in the toolbar, with an arrow pointing to the Firefox screen share window.Select Screen Share in the toolbar. If you are in Firefox, select the window or screen to share.

When you have selected the window or screen you wish to share, a preview will display. Select Allow to begin sharing that program or window.

Sharing in Safari

Any time you screen share in Safari (the desktop browser, not the mobile browser), you will need to grant Gather access. Select Allow to screen share. You only have the option to share the screen (monitor) that Safari displays on. 

The screen share window in Safari to allow screen share. The screen share monitor icon is outlined in the toolbar, with an arrow pointing to the Safari screen share window.Select Screen Share in the toolbar. If you are in Safari, select Allow to share your current window.

If you accidentally select Don't Allow, refresh the page to be prompted again. If you accidentally click Never for This Website, or if you want to have Safari automatically authorize Gather, open Safari Preferences. Select Websites in the top panel, then select Screen Sharing. Grant Gather access by selecting Ask in the drop-down field.

The Safari preferences modal, open to Websites and Screen Sharing. Ask is selected for app.gather.town.From Safari Preferences, select Websites, then Screen Sharing. Select Ask for app.gather.town.

Warning: We do not currently support other browsers, so we have not included information for screen sharing outside of Chrome, Firefox, or Safari.

Sharing Slides

To share a PowerPoint or slidedeck, select Screen share in the toolbar, and in your browser's screen sharing window, select Window. Then select the window that's showing the presentation. If you have multiple monitors, you can select the window that's displaying the fullscreen slideshow. 

A screenshot of the fancy office template, with the screenshare window open. A red outline is drawn around the Window tab on the screenshare window. Another red box is drawn around the window that shows To screen share a slide show, select the Window tab in your browser's screen sharing window. Then select the preview that's displaying the fullscreen presentation.

Sharing Audio

To share audio while screen sharing in Chrome, (1) select Screen share in the toolbar, (2) select Chrome tab in the Choose what to share window, and (3) select the Chrome tab that has the audio. Make sure Share tab audio is selected.

The screen share window in Chrome with Share tab outlined in red, with a YouTube tab outlined in red, and the Share audio from tab selected and outlined in red.To screen share with audio, (1) select Screen share in the toolbar, (2) select Chrome tab, and (3) select the desired tab. Make sure Share tab audio is selected.

Sharing Video

If you are screen sharing media, you can toggle on Optimize for video. This changes your screen sharing to HD, which will provide a better viewing experience. However, this means you will be sharing more data, so it could cause performance issues for the person sharing or those watching.

A screen is being shared, and above the screen share icon, an Optimize for video feature is toggled on. When you screen share, you can toggle on Optimize for video for an improved experience.