Invite Your Guests!

You can invite people to your Space in three ways: copy and paste the URL, create and a copy a unique link, or email a link through Gather.

  1. Copy and paste the URL of your Space: Bim, bam, done!
    • ✔ It's easy! 
    • ✖  The link won't expire and anyone can pass it on.
  2. Invite with a unique link: Click the Home icon, select Invite People, select an expiration for the link, and click Copy Invite Link.
    • ✔ You control how long the link is active!
    • ✔ You decide how to send the link (e.g., via email, messenger, hyperlink in another file, etc.)
    • ✖  You have to manually distribute the link.
  3. Invite via email: Click the Home icon, select Invite People, select an expiration for the link, enter the email address of the person you wish to invite, and click Send Invite.
    • ✔ You control how long the link is active!
    • ✔ You don't have to go to another platform to send it. 
    • ✖  You can only email one person at a time. (Coming soon: multiple email entry!)

Tip: You can also select Invite in the Participants panel to open the invite modal! 

A screenshot of the invite modal. The Invite modal has a drop-down field to select how long the link will be active, and a field to enter the email address to send an invite directly.To invite others, select the Home icon, click Invite people, then select the link expiration and whether to email an invite or copy the link.

Member v. Guest

In remote work Spaces, you can invite people to your Space as Members or Guests. 

A screenshot of the invite modal for remote work spaces, which has two tabs: Members and Guests. In the Members tab, which shows, a field allows you to enter emails and a button reading Copy Link allows you to copy the link to the Space.To invite someone to a remote work Space, you must choose whether they will be a Member or a Guest. 

Note: Only remote work Spaces distinguish between Members and Guests.

Members

  • You can send an invite to a Member via email or by copying the link to your Space. 
  • The email invitation and the invitation link for Members expire automatically after 30 days.
  • A Member must have a Gather account.

Guests

  • You can copy a link to invite Guests to the remote work Space. 
  • A Guest does not have to have a Gather account.
  • The link for a Guest has an expiration date.
  • The Guest can still visit the Space after the invitation link has expired if they have the URL to the Space. 
  • If you want to prevent a Guest from accessing the Space after you have invited them, you must block or ban them.

Disable Invite

If you want to remove the Invite people option, open Settings. The Space tab is active by default, and Space Preferences displays. Toggle on Disable invite button

Note: Admins and Moderators will still be able to invite people and both roles have access to the Disable Invite feature. All other roles will not be able to invite people.

A screenshot of a game room template, with the Space Settings modal open. The Disable invite button option is outlined in red.You can hide the Invite people option by opening Settings. Under Space Preferences, toggle on Disable invite button.

Users in the Space (who are not Admins or Moderators) will not be able to send an email invite. 

Warning: Keep in mind users can still copy and share the URL; for more info about limiting who can access your Space, see Space Access Restrictions.)

When the Admin has disabled the Invite feature, the Invite button is disabled and it does not display in the Home menu.

Note: You are welcome to share the link to you Space in advance if you'd like. Your Space will always be hosted on a Free server outside of the paid premium reservation time, so up to 25 users can enter for free! If more than 25 users enter before your event, the server connection will degrade and some users may not be able to enter until the event begins and your Space capacity increases. However, you will not be charged if more than 25 people try to access your Space before your reservation begins.