Invite

You can invite guests to your Space in three ways: copy and paste the URL, create and a copy a unique link, or email a link through Gather. It's easy to find the Invite buttons from either the Main menu or from the Participants pane.

The main menu is open and the invite button is outlined in red, and the Participants panel is open, and its invite button is also outlined in red.You can easily invite someone to your Space with the Invite buttons available in the Main menu and in the Participants panel.

Note: If you don't see an Invite button in the Main menu or see an Invite Disabled button in Participants, invites have been disabled in your Space. 

To invite someone to your Space, you have three options:

  1. Copy and paste the URL of your Space: That's it!
    • ✔ It's easy! 
    • ✖ The link won't expire and anyone can pass it on.
  2. Invite with a unique link: Select the Main menu, select Invite, select an expiration for the link, and select Copy Invite Link.
    • ✔ You control how long the link is active!
    • ✔ You decide how to send the link (e.g., via email, messenger, hyperlink in another file, etc.)
    • ✖  You have to manually distribute the link.
  3. Invite via email: Select the Main menu, select Invite, select an expiration for the link, enter the email address of the person you wish to invite, and select Send Invite
    • ✔ You control how long the link is active!
    • ✔ You don't have to go to another platform to send it. 
    • ✖  You can only email one person at a time. (Coming soon: multiple email entry!)

A screenshot of the invite modal. The Invite modal has a drop-down field to select how long the link will be active, and a field to enter the email address to send an invite directly.To invite others, select the Main menu, select Invite, then select the link expiration and whether to email an invite or copy the link.

Note: The Invite modal is a bit different between events and remote work Spaces. Remote work Spaces allow you to invite someone as a Member or a Guest.

Member vs. Guest

In Remote Work Spaces, you can invite people to your Space as Members or Guests. When you first enter a Remote Work Space, you may be prompted to invite others. Otherwise, you can send invites from the Main menu, from Participants, or by heading to Space Settings or your Space dashboard and opening User Roles. Read Managing Roles: Remote Work for more details.  

A screenshot of the invite modal for remote work spaces, which has two tabs: Members and Guests. In the Members tab, which shows, a field allows you to enter emails and a button reading Copy Link allows you to copy the link to the Space.To invite someone to a remote work Space, you must choose whether they will be a Member or a Guest. 

Members

  • You can send an invite to a Member via email or by copying the link to your Space. 
  • The email invitation and the invitation link for Members expire automatically after 30 days.
  • A Member must have a Gather account.

Guests

  • You can copy a link to invite Guests to the remote work Space. 
  • A Guest does not have to have a Gather account.
  • The link for a Guest has an expiration date.
  • The Guest can still visit the Space after the invitation link has expired if they have the URL to the Space. 
  • If you want to prevent a Guest from accessing the Space after you have invited them, you must block or ban them.

Disable Invite

If you want to restrict access to the invite button, open Settings. Select the Space tab and Space Preferences. Toggle on Disable invite Button

Note: Admins and Moderators will still be able to invite people and both roles have access to the Disable Invite feature. All other roles will not be able to invite people.

The Space Settings modal is open to Space Preferences. The Disable invite button option is outlined in red.You can hide the Invite people option by opening Settings. Under Space Preferences, toggle on Disable invite button.

Users in the Space (who are not Admins or Moderators) will not be able to send an email invite. 

Warning: Keep in mind users can still copy and share the URL; for more info about limiting who can access your Space, see Space Access Restrictions.)

When the Admin has disabled the Invite feature, the Invite button is disabled in Participants and it does not display in the Main menu.

Note: You are welcome to share the URL to your Space any time. Your Space will always be hosted on a Free server outside of any paid reservation times, so up to 25 users can always enter for free! If you want to prevent people from visiting your Space, you can set Space Access permissions, including adding a password, adding a guest list, or restricting by email domains.