Customize Your Space

Gather offers two ways to customize your Space: the Build tool and the Mapmaker. As the creator of a Space, you can use either method to customize your Map and the objects in it. The in-Space Build tool lets you quickly add or delete objects in your Space, while the Mapmaker is a robust editing tool that opens in a new tab and lets you manage everything from the walls and floors to portals and spawn points. 

Note: Check out the Space Design section of the user guide for complete details on how to customize every part of your Space!

Build Tool

The Build tool allows you to quickly add or remove objects in a Space, as well as access the Mapmaker and upload custom objects. Just select Build (hammer icon) in the toolbar. The Build pane opens, allowing you to easily search for objects, quickly add a suggested object (like Draw Battle!), open the Object Picker, upload your own custom image, or access the Mapmaker. 

A screenshot of the fancy office complex, with the Riley avatar standing between the lobby and the desks. The Build icon is outlined in red in the Left Nav Menu, and the Build panel is open. At the top of the Build panel is a search field to find objects, a list of recent objects (if any), six suggested objects, and buttons to Open object picker, upload image, or edit in Mapmaker.Select Build in the toolbar to quickly add or manage objects in your Space.

When you've found the object you wish to place, just click anywhere on the Map to add it. When you're done placing objects, close the Build pane.

Tip: If you want to snap the object to the grid (handy for chairs and furniture), hold the Ctrl/⌘ key when you place the object. 

Erase Tool

If you want to remove an object, select the Erase tab in the Build pane. The object you hover over displays red. Select the object you wish to erase. 

A screenshot of the fancy office template with the Riley avatar standing between the lobby and the desks. The Erase tab is outline in red in the Build panel, a small red square displays beneath the Riley avatar. A red arrow points to the red square beneath Riley, with a label that reads To remove an object, click the Erase tab in the Build panel. Click on the object you wish to remove. 

Mapmaker

For more extensive customization of your Space, select Build in the toolbar, then select Edit in Mapmaker. The Mapmaker opens in a new tab, displaying the top left corner of the Map. A screenshot of the conference room in the top left of the fancy office template. Objects is selected in the Top nav and the Select tool is active. To  open the Mapmaker, select Build in the Left Nav Menu of your Space, then click Edit in Mapmaker. You know you're in Mapmaker if a grid displays on the Map.

From the Mapmaker, you can add, edit, or remove objects, tiles effects, walls, and floors, as well as add and remove Rooms. Remember to select Save before trying to view your changes. 

Note: You can review all the features of the Mapmaker in the Space Design section of our help center.

Collaboration

You can control who can customize your Space through the Global Build setting and user roles. With Global Build turned on, any person in the Space can use the Build tool. However, they will not have access to the Mapmaker unless they have the user role of Builder or Admin. 

Global Build

To manage the Global Build setting, open Settings (Ctrl/⌘+P). On the Space tab in Settings, select Space Customization. Toggle Global Build on or off.

A screenshot of the Settings modal, open to the Space tab and the Space Customization section. A red arrow points to the toggle selector next to the Global Build setting.  To allow anyone to add or remove objects in your Space, open Settings. Select the Space tab and select Space Customization. Toggle Global Build on.

By default, Global Build is turned off. When a user who does not have the Builder or Admin role selects Build in the toolbar with Global Build turned off, they cannot access the Object Picker or the Mapmaker. 

A screenshot of the fancy office template, with the Riley avatar standing between the lobby and desks. In the Left Nav Menu, the Build icon (hammer) is outlined in red. A red arrow points to the message in the Build panel: When Global Build is turned off, a user who is not a Builder or Owner cannot access any options when they click Build in the Left Nav Menu.

User Roles

If you want to allow someone to customize the Space using the Mapmaker, you can add them as a Builder or Admin. Open Settings and select User Roles in the Space tab. Depending on the type of Space you're in, you can add a person as a Member, then grant them a role (remote work Spaces), or you can directly assign the role when you enter their email address (events Spaces). Select the three dots to the right of someone's name in User Roles to grant them specific roles.

A screenshot of the Settings modal with the Space tab open and User Roles selected. The Settings icon, Space tab, and User Roles section are outlined in red. The User Roles options visible include Owners and Moderators. Each role has a field to enter an email address, with an Add button. Any currently listed users under a role have a Remove button next to their email.To add someone as a Builder or Admin, open Settings. From the Space tab, select User Roles

Builders and Admins can access the Mapmaker and use the in-Space Build tool. However, it's important to make sure multiple people are not in the Mapmaker at the same time because changes can be overwritten. 

Warning: Only one person should be editing the Mapmaker at a time. If multiple people are editing the Mapmaker at the same time, changes can be overwritten.