Block, Kick, & Ban

Among Gather's core values are being open, honest, and constructive, as well as being warm-hearted. We want people in our Spaces to feel safe, respected, and accepted. There are times when Space Owners/Admins may need moderation tools, particularly if you want to give the people in your Space agency over who they interact with. For those situations, we have the following three options: blocking, kicking, and banning. 

There are also just times when audio and video can be overwhelming or distracting, and there's an easy way to mute a person's audio or turn off their video!

Muting

To turn off another person's audio or video feed, just hover over their video feed and select the microphone or camera icon. Keep in mind this just stops their feed to you, not to anyone else. 

A view of the game Space in Gather. Riley is standing in front of Baba O, who's sitting on a couch. At the top center of the window, Baba O's video feed show the mic icon with a line through it. The camera is not turned off, so you see a person in the video feed. A red outline is drawn around the video feed with text pointing to the icons reading Turn off audio and Turn off video.Select the mic or camera icon in the video feed if you want to stop connecting to someone's audio or video feed.

Blocking

Anyone in the Space can use the blocking  feature. Blocking someone will stop all audio/video connections between you and that person. It will not block that person from interacting with anyone else in the Space. You will still see the avatar of the person you've blocked; you just will not connect with each other's audio or video feed. The person will not be notified that they have been blocked, and they will still be able to see and hear you.

Warning: At this time, blocking a person does not prevent them from messaging you via Chat or from following you or starting a bubble.

To block a person, select the three dots on their video feed, then select Block. You can also select a person's name on the Participants list, and in the info menu on that person, select the three dots in the top right corner, then select Block.

To block someone, select their name in the Participants list, and in their info card, select the three dots, then Block. (Additional options display if you are the Admin/Owner of the Space.)

Unblocking

To unblock a person, select Unblock on their video feed. You can also select their name from the Participants list, and from the three dots on their info card, select Unblock.

To unblock someone, select Unblock on their video feed or from their info card in the Participants list.

Kicking

Space Admins/Owners and Moderators can kick someone out of the Space. Kicking someone will remove them from the Space and send them to the Check Your Hair screen. This feature is primarily used for removing inactive guests from a Space. 

To kick someone, select the person's name on the Participants list, and in the info menu on that person, select the three dots in the top right corner, then select Kick from Space.

To remove someone from the Space, select Kick from space from their info card in the Participants list. (Only available for Mods and Admins/Owners)

Banning

Space Admins/Owners and Moderators can ban someone from their Space. This blocks the user from fully joining the Space: they will only see a black screen and will not be able to see or hear anyone. Bans are by the user's IP address.

To ban someone, select the person's name on the Participants list, and in the info menu on that person, select the three dots in the top right corner, then select Ban from Space.

To ban someone, select Ban from Space from their info card in the Participants list. (Only available for Mods and Admins/Owners) You will then be prompted to confirm the ban. Select Ban User.

To confirm removing the person from the Space, select Ban User.

Warning: If the person you are banning is on the same IP address as yourself, you will be banning yourself. 

A banned user's view of the Space.

Unbanning

Only Space Admins/Owners can unban someone. To unban a user (which will unban the entire IP address), open your Space Dashboard and select the trashcan icon next to their IP address and character name. You can also unban all.

To remove someone's ban, the Admin/Owner must go to the Space Dashboard, and from Banned Users, select the trashcan.

Note: If you accidentally ban yourself or someone else, reach out to the Admin/Owner of the Space. If you are the Admin/Owner, you can unban yourself from the Dashboard.