Start and Manage Monthly or Annual Subscriptions

Riley
Riley
  • Updated

Gather offers two types of pricing: Monthly/Annual Subscriptions or One-Time Reservations. This article will cover everything you need to know about managing a subscription on Gather

A subscription on Gather is best for ongoing use of a space, such as a virtual office or classroom. To learn more about purchasing a one-time reservation (best for events with a specific end date), click here

Overview

Premium Subscriptions on Gather cost $7/user/month, or you can save 15% by upgrading to an annual plan.  

To create and make changes to your subscription, you need to be an Admin of the space. Click here to learn more about user roles. 

To create, edit, or cancel your subscription, navigate to your Space Dashboard. You can get there two ways: 

  1. From the Gather app homepage: Find the space you want to manage the subscription for. Click the three-dot menu to the right of the space name and click Manage Space. 
  2. From within the space: Click the Main Menu button at the left of the bottom navigation bar. Click Upgrade Space. 

Space Dashboard.png

By default, this will open the Plans & Billing tab. This is where you can manage your plan. 

Start Your Subscription

  1. Open the Plans & Billing tab of your Space Dashboard and select the For Virtual Office tab at the top
  2. Use the toggle to view the price with monthly or annual billing and click Select. (You can change the billing frequency before submitting payment.) 
  3. Set your Space Capacity and choose what the subscription is for. Click Next
  4. Enter payment information. You can choose to pay by credit card or invoice. You can pay the invoice through credit card, ACH transfer, or check.
  5. That's it! You've started your subscription.

The price of your plan is based on the Space Capacity you set. Space Capacity is the maximum number of concurrent users that can be in your space at the same time. For example, a virtual office with a Space Capacity of 20 users would cost $140 per month ($7 per user per month) and allow 20 users to be in the space at the same time. 

We recommend choosing a space capacity slightly higher than the number of people on your team. This leaves extra room for things like interviewing candidates, holding client meetings, or other situations where guests are in your office. 

Interested in an enterprise plan? Contact our Sales Team

Increase or Decrease Subscription Space Capacity

Once you've created your subscription, there are two ways you can adjust your Space Capacity: 

  1. Increase/Decrease the Space Capacity of your subscription. This is best for "permanent" adjustments to your Space Capacity. For example, if you hire more people onto your team or bring another department from your company into your virtual office. 
  2. Create a temporary reservation on top of your subscription. This is best for temporarily increasing your Space Capacity. For example, if only a portion of your team works in Gather every day but you want to hold a full company social or retreat in the space. 

To increase/decrease the Space Capacity of your subscription: 

  1. From the Plans & Billing Tab of the Space Dashboard, find your subscription and click Manage
  2. Click Update space capacity
  3. Enter the new capacity
    1. If increasing space capacity, prorated charges will be displayed and your capacity will increase immediately. 
    2. If decreasing space capacity, the changes will take effect after your next billing cycle. 
  4. Click Update subscription or Pay to finalize the changes

If you reduce your space capacity, the changes will take effect after your next billing cycle. We are unable to issue refunds for the prorated amount.  

To create a temporary reservation on top of your subscription: 

  1. From the Plans & Billing tab of the Space Dashboard, click the Temporary reservations toggle.
  2. Click New temporary reservation.
  3. Select your space capacity, timezone, and start and end date of your event. Your reservation will start at 12:00 AM on the start date and end at 11:59 PM on the end date based on the timezone selected.
  4. Click on Next: Payment
  5. Fill out your payment details or select the invoice option and click the Pay button on the right.

The user capacity of this reservation will be added on top of your subscription's capacity. For example, if you have a subscription for 30 concurrent users and you create a reservation for 20, you’ll have the capacity for 50 concurrent users during you temporary reservation.

Upgrade from Monthly to Annual Billing

If you're currently on a Monthly Subscription but wish to switch to Annual billing (which saves you 15%!) you can upgrade directly from your Space Dashboard. 

  1. Open your Space Dashboard and click the Plans & Billing tab
  2. Click Manage next to your subscription
  3. Select Upgrade to Annual Plan

 If you need to change your subscription capacity, you can do that at this time. Enter payment information, and your annual subscription will start at the beginning of the next billing cycle. 

Update Credit Card and Billing Information

If you need to edit your credit card or billing information, you can do so from the Space Dashboard. 

  1. From the Plans & Billing tab of the Space Dashboard, find your billing information and click on Update
  2. Click on Update card
  3. Enter your new card information and billing details and click Save Changes

If you have an unpaid invoice, the new credit card will be used to pay it. Otherwise, the changes will go into effect on the next subscription renewal date.

Cancel your Subscription

If you need to cancel your Gather subscription, you can do so from the Space Dashboard. 

  1. From the Plans & Billing Tab of the Space Dashboard, find your subscription and click on Manage
  2. Click Cancel my subscription
  3. Follow the prompts and click Continue with cancelation

Your subscription will stay active until the end of the billing cycle.

You will still be able to access your space after the subscription has been cancelled. It will exist on our Free Plan, so your space settings and uploaded assets will remain the same. To fully the remove the space from our system, you can delete it

FAQs

  • No, we don't currently offer a refund for prepaid subscription fees.
  • Please allow up to 15 minutes for the changes to take effect. Our system needs to reallocate server resources based on the updated capacity, which could take a few minutes.
  • Discount codes aren't currently recognized when changing the capacity of a subscription. If you have a discount code currently applied and need to change space capacity, you'll need to cancel the subscription and create a new one with the new amount and discount code. Please reach out to us if you've lost your discount code. 
  • No. You'll need to either: (1) Create a one-time reservation on top of your subscription (for discounts that temporarily increase space capacity) or (2) Contact Support and we can help.
Share this guide

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 1 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request